

Woodrow Wilson Fellows—Presidential and National Medal Recipients

last updated October 2014

PRESIDENTIAL MEDAL OF FREEDOM

James Q. Wilson

Presidential Medal of Freedom, 2003 Area of Focus: Higher Education 1952 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Gary S. Becker

Presidential Medal of Freedom, 2007 Area of Focus: Economics 1951 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

NATIONAL MEDAL OF SCIENCE

Nancy C. Andreasen

National Medal of Science, 2000 Area of Focus: Biological Sciences 1958 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Robert Axelrod

National Medal of Science, 2014 Area of Focus: Political Science 1964 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

George F. Bass

National Medal of Science, 2001 Area of Focus: Biological Sciences 1955 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Gary S. Becker

National Medal of Science, 2000

Area of Focus: Behavioral and Social Science
1951 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Gordon H. Bower

National Medal of Science, 2005

Area of Focus: Behavioral and Social Science
1954 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Sandra Faber

National Medal of Science, 2011 Area of Focus: Physical Sciences 1966 Woodrow Wilson Fellow (honorary)

Peter M. Goldreich

National Medal of Science, 1995 Area of Focus: Physical Sciences 1960 Woodrow Wilson Fellow (honorary)

Roald Hoffmann

National Medal of Science, 1983 Area of Focus: Chemistry 1958 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Donald E. Knuth

National Medal of Science, 1979

Area of Focus: Mathematical, Statistical, and Computer Sciences
1960 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Stephen J. Lippard

National Medal of Science, 2004 Area of Focus: Chemistry 1962 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Dennis P. Sullivan

National Medal of Science, 2004

Area of Focus: Mathematical, Statistical, and Computer Sciences

1963 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Karen K. Uhlenbeck

National Medal of Science, 2000

Area of Focus: Mathematical, Statistical, and Computer Sciences
1964 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Harold Varmus

National Medal of Science, 2001 Area of Focus: Biological Sciences 1961 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

NATIONAL HUMANITIES MEDAL

William G. Bowen

1955 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Award Year: 2012

Noted academic leader; president emeritus of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, former president of Princeton University

Robert Fagles

1955 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Award Year: 2006

Noted translator of Greek classics, including Sophocles' Three Theban Plays, Aeschylus's Oresteia, Homer's Iliad, and Virgil's Aeneid

Doris Kearns Goodwin

1964 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Award Year: 1996 [Frankel Prize]

Pulitzer Prize-winning historian and a leading scholar of the American presidency known for her commentary in television news programs and historical documentaries.

Alan Charles Kors

1964 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Award Year: 2005

Scholar of European intellectual history, writer,

past editor-in-chief of the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment.

Mary Lefkowitz

1957 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Award Year: 2006

Scholar of classics whose works include Greek Gods, Human Lives; Not Out of Africa; Heroines and Hysterics; Women in Greek Myth; Women's Life in Greece and Rome; and The Victory Ode.

Lewis Lehrman

1961 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Award Year: 2005

Philanthropist, trustee of the Gilder Lehrman Center at Yale University for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition, and chairman of the Lehrman Institute.

Arturo Madrid

1960 Woodrow Wilson Fellow Award Year: 1996 [Frankel Prize]

Professor of Latino literature who as founding president of the Tomas Rivera Center helped develop the field of Latino studies in the U.S.

Harvey C. Mansfield

1958 Woodrow Wilson Fellow Award Year: 2004

Political philosopher and author of thirteen books on subjects ranging from Edmund Burke to Machiavelli.

Phillippe de Montebello

1961 Woodrow Wilson Fellow Award Year: 2009 Former director, Metropolitan Museum of Art

Mark Noll

1968 Woodrow Wilson Fellow Award Year: 2006

Expert on the interaction of Christianity and culture in 18th- and 19th-century Anglo-American societies.

Robert D. Putnam

1963 Woodrow Wilson Fellow
Award Year: 2012
Political scientist; Malkin Professor of Public Policy at the Harvard University
John F. Kennedy School of Government.

Laurel Thatcher Ulrich

1978 Women's Studies Fellow Award Year: 1993 [Frankel Prize]

Pioneering historian of women in New England's past and Pulitzer Prize-winning author