

NEWS RELEASE

FOR RELEASE: Tuesday, May 9, 2017

CONTACT: Patrick Riccards

riccards@woodrow.org | (703) 298-8283

MALKIEL SCHOLARS AWARD IDENTIFIES EMERGING ACADEMIC LEADERS

Program Aims to Support Junior Faculty, Foster Inclusive Campus Communities

PRINCETON, NJ (Tuesday, May 9, 2017)—The Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation has identified ten emerging faculty leaders as a part of this year's Nancy Weiss Malkiel Scholars Award Program. Funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the Malkiel Scholars Award supports junior faculty whose research focuses on contemporary American history, politics, culture, and society, and who are committed to the creation of an inclusive campus community for underrepresented students and scholars.

The 2017 Malkiel Scholars are faculty members at the University of Arkansas, California State University—Fullerton, Duke University, Eastern Michigan University, Indiana University, the University of Maryland, Pennsylvania State University, the University of Washington, Washington University in St. Louis, and the College of William & Mary. They have appointments in such departments as history and media, higher education, public policy, and women's and gender studies (see the full list below).

Each Malkiel Scholar will receive a 12-month award of \$17,500 while working toward tenure. The award is structured to free the time of junior faculty who have passed their midpoint tenure review—including those from underrepresented groups and others committed to eradicating disparities in their fields—so that they can both engage in and build support for systems, networks, and affinity groups that make their fields and campuses more inclusive.

"These are exceptional scholars, every one of them doing impressive work in a field related to 20th-century history, civil rights, and gender issues," said Stephanie J. Hull, Ph.D., the program's director and Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of the Woodrow Wilson Foundation. "Yet all have faced the well-documented pressures that the academy places disproportionately on women and people of color—to serve on additional committees, mentor more students, and take on other kinds of service that, while important, may hinder their own work. This award is designed to assist them in balancing their commitments while continuing to progress toward tenure."

Established in honor of Dr. Nancy Weiss Malkiel, the Malkiel Scholars Awards Program was created on the occasion of her 40th year of service on the Woodrow Wilson Foundation Board of Trustees, including 10 years as its Chair. Dr. Malkiel, who in 1969 became the first woman to join the faculty of the Princeton University Department of History, is a leading scholar of civil rights and race relations in early and mid-20th-century America; she also served for a record 24 years as Princeton's Dean of the College, the senior officer responsible for undergraduate education at the university. Dr. Malkiel is a 1965 Woodrow Wilson Fellow.

The 2017 Malkiel Scholars represent a developing class of scholars in the humanities and social sciences who are poised—like the program's namesake—to play a significant role in shaping American higher education.

For more information on the Malkiel Scholars Award program, visit www.woodrow.org/nwm.

###

The <u>Andrew W. Mellon Foundation</u>, founded in 1969, endeavors to strengthen, promote, and, where necessary, defend the contributions of the humanities and the arts to human flourishing and to the well-being of diverse and democratic societies by supporting exemplary institutions of higher education and culture as they renew and provide access to an invaluable heritage of ambitious, path-breaking work.

| Founded in 1945, the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation identifies and develops the nation's best minds to meet its most critical challenges. The Foundation supports its Fellows as the next generation of leaders shaping American society. |
|--|
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |



The Nancy Weiss Malkiel Scholars Award: 2017 Recipients

Lamonte Aidoo • Duke University, Romance studies

Caree Banton • University of Arkansas, African American studies

Cara Caddoo • Indiana University, history/media

Eddie Cole • College of William & Mary, education (higher education)

Ebony Coletu • Pennsylvania State University, English/African American studies

Ashley Falzetti • Eastern Michigan University, women's/gender studies

Sara Gonzalez • University of Washington, anthropology

Willow Lung-Amam • University of Maryland, public policy

Lerone Martin • Washington University in St. Louis, religion and politics

Susie Woo • California State University, Fullerton, American Studies