Presidential Medal Winners

Gary S. Becker WF ’51, a 2000 Medal of Science recipient for behavioral and social science


Gary S. Becker WF ’51
2007 Medal recipient: economics

James Q. Wilson WF ’52, deceased
2003 Medal recipient: higher education


Nancy C. Andreasen WF ’58
2000 Medal recipient: biological sciences

Robert Axelrod WF ’64
2014 Medal recipient: political science

George F. Bass WF ’55
2001 Medal recipient: biological sciences

Gary S. Becker WF ’51
2000 Medal recipient: behavioral and social science

Gordon H. Bower WF ’54
2005 Medal recipient: behavioral and social science

Sandra Faber WF H ’66
2011 Medal recipient: physical sciences

Peter M. Goldreich WF H ’60
1995 Medal recipient: physical sciences

Roald Hoffmann WF ’58
1983 Medal recipient: chemistry

Donald E. Knuth WF ’60
1979 Medal recipient: mathematical, statistical, and computer sciences

Stephen J. Lippard WF ’62
2004 Medal recipient: chemistry

Dennis P. Sullivan WF ’63
2004 Medal recipient: mathematical, statistical, and computer sciences

Karen K. Uhlenbeck WF ’64
2000 Medal recipient: mathematical, statistical, and computer sciences

Harold Varmus WF ’61
2001 Medal recipient: biological sciences


William G. Bowen WF ’55, deceased
2012 Medal recipient: Noted academic leader; president emeritus, The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation; former president, Princeton University.

Robert Fagles WF ’55, deceased
2006 Medal recipient: Noted translator of Greek classics, including Sophocles’ Three Theban Plays, Aeschylus’s Oresteia, Homer’s Iliad, and Virgil’s Aeneid.

Doris Kearns Goodwin WF ’64
1996  Medal recipient [Frankel Prize]: Pulitzer Prize-winning historian and a leading scholar of the American presidency known for her commentary in television news programs and historical documentaries.

Alan Charles Kors WF ’64
2005 Medal recipient: Scholar of European intellectual history, writer, past editor-in-chief of the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment.

Mary Lefkowitz WF ’57
2006 Medal recipient: Scholar of classics whose works include Greek Gods, Human Lives; Not Out of Africa; Heroines and Hysterics; Women in Greek Myth; Women’s Life in Greece and Rome; and The Victory Ode.

Lewis Lehrman WF ’61
2005 Medal recipient: Philanthropist, trustee of the Gilder Lehrman Center at Yale University for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition, and chairman of the Lehrman Institute.

Arturo Madrid WF ’60
1996  Medal recipient [Frankel Prize]: Professor of Latino literature who, as founding president of the Tomas Rivera Center, helped develop the field of Latino studies in the U.S.

Harvey C. Mansfield WF ’58
2004 Medal recipient: Political philosopher and author of thirteen books on subjects ranging from Edmund Burke to Machiavelli.

Phillippe de Montebello WF ’61
2009 Medal recipient: Former director, Metropolitan Museum of Art

Mark Noll WF ’68
2006 Medal recipient: Expert on the interaction of Christianity and culture in 18th- and 19th-century Anglo-American societies.

Robert D. Putnam WF ’63
2012 Medal recipient: Political scientist; Malkin Professor of Public Policy at the Harvard University John F. Kennedy School of Government.

Laurel Thatcher Ulrich WS ’78
1993 Medal recipient [Frankel Prize]: Pioneering historian of women in New England’s past and Pulitzer Prize-winning author

last updated October 2014

Other Fellows of Note


The Institute for Citizens & Scholars

This new identity reflects the organization’s twin commitments: to strengthen American education and to rebuild a flourishing civil society. Citizens & Scholars is the new name of the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation.

Learn More

Get More Info

To sign up for more information about a specific program, click here.

To receive the Woodrow Wilson newsletter, complete these fields:

If you want a hard copy, enter your preferred mailing address here: