The Charlotte W. Newcombe Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship

Application Deadline: November 15, 2019

Back to Program Page

Newcombe Selection Committees


Scott G. Bruce CN ’99 • Fordham University
CM Chin CN ’02 • University of California, Davis
Babak Rahimi •  University of California, San Diego
M. Whitney Kelting CN ’94 • Northeastern University
Susan Hyatt CN ’91  • Indiana University School of Liberal Arts at Indianapolis



John Kelly CN ’85 • Anthropology, University of Chicago
Rupert Stasch CN ’97 • University of California, San Diego
William Bissell CN ’96 •  Lafayette College
Michael Cepek CN ’04 •  University of Texas

Art History

Ikumi Kaminishi CN ’93 • Tufts University
Adrienne Baxter Bell CN ’04 • Marymount University

Asian Studies/Hindu & Buddhist Religions

Sid Brown CN ’96 • Sewanee, University of the South
Francisca Cho CN ’91 • Georgetown
James Ketelaar CN ’86 • University of Chicago

American History

Paul Harris CN ’82 • Minnesota State University, Moorhead
Kathryn Sklar WF ’65 • State University of New York, Binghamton
Mary Cygan CN ’84 • University of Connecticut

Early World History

Barbara Diefendorf • Boston University
Lisa McClain CN ’99 • Boise State

Modern World History

Mary Gluck • Brown University
Susie Steinbach CN ’94 • Hamline University
Frances Bradley CN ’09 • The Pratt Institute

American Literature

Gregg Crane • University of Michigan
Lori Merish CN ’91 • Georgetown University
Lee Mitchell • Princeton University

English Literature

David Bleich • University of Rochester
Jean Howard WF ’75 • Columbia University
Paula McQuade CN ’96 • De Paul University
Nancy Yousef CN ’93 • English, City University of New York

World Literature

Gary Saul Morson • Northwestern University

Middle Eastern Studies

Kimberly Katz CN ’98 • Towson University
John O. Voll • Georgetown University

World Art and Culture

Timothy Rommen CN ’01 • University of Pennsylvania
Negar Mottahedeh WS ’96 • Duke University


Charles Courtney • Drew University
James Klagge CN ’81 • Virginia Tech
Gordon Marino CN ’85 • St. Olaf College
Laurence Thomas • Syracuse University

Political Science

Peter Dennis Bathory WF ’64 • Rutgers University
James Johnson CN ’88 • University of Rochester
Nancy Love CN ’89 • Appalachian State University


Yaakov Ariel CN ’85 • University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
John Bowlin CN ’89 • Princeton Theological Seminary
Maureen Fitzgerald WS ’87, CN ’88 • College of William and Mary
Stacey Floyd-Thomas • Vanderbilt Divinity School
Amir Hussain • Loyola Marymount University
Michael Satlow CN ’92 • Brown University
Mark Lewis Taylor • Princeton Theological Seminary
Sumner B. Twiss • Florida State University

Sociology/Psychology/Human Development

Andrew Perrin CN ’00 • University of North Carolina
Steven Thoma • The University of Alabama

CN = Charlotte W. Newcombe Fellow
WF = Woodrow Wilson Fellow
WS = Woodrow Wilson Women’s Studies Fellow

Get More Info

To sign up for more information about a specific program, click here.

To receive the Woodrow Wilson newsletter, complete these fields:

If you want a hard copy, enter your preferred mailing address here: