Woodrow Wilson Fellowship

Kip S. Thorne

WF ’62

Kip S. Thorne WF ’62 is the Feynman Professor of Theoretical Physics, Emeritus at Caltech. He is a recipient of the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics, together with his colleagues, for “decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves.” Other recognition for his work on gravitation waves includes: the Special Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics, the Shaw Prize, the Gruber Prize in Cosmology, the Tomalla Prize, the Georges Lemaître Prize, and, the Kavli Prize in Astrophysics. Science called it “the breakthrough of the year.” Read more about Dr. Thorne here.

See More Woodrow Wilson Fellows


The Institute for Citizens & Scholars

This new identity reflects the organization’s twin commitments: to strengthen American education and to rebuild a flourishing civil society. Citizens & Scholars is the new name of the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation.

Learn More

Get More Info

To sign up for more information about a specific program, click here.

To receive the Woodrow Wilson newsletter, complete these fields:

If you want a hard copy, enter your preferred mailing address here: