Fellows win Guggenheim Fellowships

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation aims to further the development of artists, writers, scientists, and scholars through its annual fellowship awards. This year is the award’s 94th competition. Out of nearly 3,000 applicants, 173 candidates were selected, including 11 Fellows from Woodrow Wilson programs.

These new Guggenheim recipients were all Fellows were all awarded through “second generation” Woodrow Wilson programs—those that came after the original Woodrow Wilson Fellowships from 1945 to 1972. They include six Andrew W. Mellon Fellows in Humanistic Studies (MN), four Newcombe Fellows (CN), and a Women’s Studies Fellow (WS):

Teju Cole MN ‘00

Alison Griffiths CN ‘96

Martin Hägglund CN ‘08

Saidiya Hartman CN ‘90

Brooke Holmes MN ‘99

Shari Huhndorf CN ‘95

Nancy Rose Hunt WS ‘95

Scott F. Johnson MN ‘99

Jane Kamensky MN ‘87

David M. Levine MN ‘92

Srikanth A. Reddy MN ‘96

This group of scholars represents the next generation of leaders in their fields. The Woodrow Wilson Foundation is proud to have supported them at various stages of their careers.


Looking for Fellowship Applications?

Fellowship applications and opportunities can now be found on our new website, citizensandscholars.org.

Visit Now

Get More Info

To sign up for more information about a specific program, click here.

To receive the Woodrow Wilson newsletter, complete these fields:

If you want a hard copy, enter your preferred mailing address here: