2019 A Big Year For WW Fellows

Garikai Campbell CEF ‘02 was named provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs at UNC Asheville this year.

This year Fellows from the Woodrow Wilson network of Fellowship continued the legacy of exceptional work in their areas of focus. In addition to winning major awards and accolades like a Nobel Prize and MacArthur grants, Fellows garnered praise for their books, earned prestigious fellowships, and won numerous professional honors.

Margaret Atwood WF ’61 released her much anticipated sequel to The Handmaid’s Tale in September. The Testaments was awarded the Booker Prize for Fiction.

Karen Uhlenbeck WF ’64 won the 2019 Abel Prize for “the fundamental impact of her work on analysis, geometry and mathematical physics.” Dr. Uhlenbeck, professor emerita of mathematics and Sid W. Richardson Regents Chair at the University of Texas at Austin, is the first women to receive the Abel Prize, created to serve as the equivalent in mathematics of a Nobel Prize.

In the early part of 2019, eight WW Fellows were named Guggenheim Fellows and three Fellows were elected members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. There are five WW Fellows among the 2019 class of American Council of Learned Societies Fellows: Shanna Greene Benjamin CEF ’06, Christopher Collins WF ’58, Joshua Foa Dienstag CN ’91, Jonathan E. Elmer MN ’84, and Nathalie M. Peutz MN ’99. 

María Lis Baiocchi WS ‘18 is this year’s recipient of the Association for Feminist Anthropology’s Sylvia Forman Graduate Prize for her paper “The Bargaining Power of Love: Access to Rights, Affective Capital, and the Political Economy of Feelings in Paid Domestic Work in Buenos Aires, Argentina.” 

Magdalena Barrera CEF ’11 was elected the department chair of Chicana and Chicano Studies at San Jose State University. Dr. Barrera is the first woman to chair the 50-year-old department.

Julia Bowes WS ’16, The University of Hong Kong, was awarded the prestigious 2019 Lerner-Scott Prize for her dissertation, Invading the Home: Children, State Power, and the Gendered Origins of Modern Conservatism, 1865–1933. The award is given annually for the best doctoral dissertation in U.S. women’s history.

Garikai Campbell CEF ‘02 was named provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs at UNC Asheville.

Emily Cizmas TF ‘14 received two teaching awards: the Shell Science Teaching Award, which recognizes one outstanding classroom teacher who has had a positive impact on her students, school, and the community through exemplary science teaching; and the Teacher of Promise Award from the Michigan Science Teachers Association.

Eddie Cole NWM ’17 received a 2018 Early Career Award from the Association for the Study of Higher Education. 

Reyhan Durmaz CN ‘18 is a recipient of a 2019 Joukowsky Family Foundation Outstanding Dissertation Award for recognition of “superior achievements in research by students completing the doctoral degree.”

Anthony Gary Dworkin WF ’64 completed his second four-year term as president of the Sociology of Education Research Committee of the International Sociological Association. 

Amina Gautier CEF ‘13 received the Pen/Malamud Award for her short stories. The award honors excellence in the art of short fiction; Dr. Gautier is the first black woman to win the award.

Hunt Hawkins WF ‘65 received a Fulbright Fellowship for a Visiting Professorship at the Jagiellonian University in Krakow, Poland. 

Mary Mackey WF ’66 has won the 2019 Eric Hoffer Small Press Award for her collection of poetry The Jaguars That Prowl Our Dreams: New and Selected Poems 1974 to 2018.

Jeffrey Masten MN ’86 was awarded the 2018 Elizabeth Dietz Memorial Prize for best book in early modern drama studies for Queer Philologies: Sex, Language, and Affect in Shakespeare’s Time.

Matt Oney TF ’12 was one of only seven teachers awarded Michigan’s Certificate of Excellence, an award honoring innovation in STEM instruction. Mr. Oney will receive a $10,000 grant each year for three years. 

Caitlynn Richardson TF ’15 received the Charlotte Boener Award for Innovative Middle School Science Teaching at the Hoosier Association of Science Teachers, Inc., conference in February.

Paula E. Stephan Amis WF ‘67 was a Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholar for the 2018–19 academic year.

Andrew Stephen Szegedy-Maszak WF ’70 won an inaugural Onassis Foundation Teaching Fellowship in Culture and Humanities. The fellowship will support him in teaching Greek history to incarcerated students through Wesleyan’s Center for Prison Education (CPE).

Elizabeth Son CEF ‘15, was recently named one of the inaugural recipients of the Mellon/ACLS Scholars & Society Fellowship.

Virginia Trimble WF ‘64 was awarded the Gemant Award for Championing the Social Perspective of Science from The American Institute of Physics.

Ruth B. Yeazell WF ’67 was appointed Sterling Professor of English by Yale University.

Many of the WW Fellows supported and honored by these organizations come from “second generation” Woodrow Wilson programs—those that came after the original Woodrow Wilson Fellowships from 1945 to 1972. They include Career Enhancement Fellows (CEF), Andrew W. Mellon Fellows in Humanistic Studies (MN), Newcombe Fellows (CN), and Women’s Studies Fellows (WS). This group of scholars represents today’s and tomorrow’s leaders in their fields. The Woodrow Wilson Foundation is proud to have supported them at various stages of their careers.


Looking for Fellowship Applications?

Fellowship applications and opportunities can now be found on our new website, citizensandscholars.org.

Visit Now

Get More Info

To sign up for more information about a specific program, click here.

To receive the Woodrow Wilson newsletter, complete these fields:

If you want a hard copy, enter your preferred mailing address here: